Symphony for Six (2001)

for flute, clarinet, percussion, piano, violin, and cello

 Written for the contemporary sextet eighth blackbird. Premiered at the Music 2001 festival at the University of Cincinnati, June 2001.

In this piece I wanted to present material of a symphonic scope and drama through the forces of the sextet. There is a recurring conflict between passages of introspective lyricism and exuberant cacophony.

Movement I, excerpt
Movement II, excerpt
Movement III, excerpt